

Structure and Governance

PAGE 1 OF 2

Advisory Committee

The Centre's Advisory Committee provides strategic guidance and advocacy for the Centre to ensure its work is grounded in real-world context and has a public voice. It has an independent Chair and includes representation from government and non-government organisations.

CHAIR

Emeritus Professor Peter Saunders

University of New South Wales

Ms Marilyn Chilvers

Executive Director, Strategy, Customer, Delivery and Transformation, NSW Government Department of Customer Service

Professor Greg Duncan

Distinguished Professor, University of California, Irvine

Dr Shae Garwood

Manager, Research, Advocacy & Prevention, Innovation & Strategy, Anglicare, WA

Ms Elizabeth Hefren-Webb

Deputy Secretary, Australian Government Department of Social Services

Ms Myra Geddes

Social Impact General Manager, Goodstart Early Learning

Ms Toni Wren

Executive Director, Anti-Poverty Week

Professor Shelley Mallett

Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne Director, Research and Policy Centre,

Professor Janeen Baxter

Brotherhood of St Laurence

Centre Director, Life Course Centre

Executive Committee

CHAIR

Centre Director

Overall executive responsibility for Centre performance and success

Janeen Baxter (UQ)

Deputy Director

As well as supporting and advising the Director, the Deputy Director is the Chair of the Research Committee

— Deborah Cobb-Clark (Syd)

Chief Operating Officer

Coordinates and manages the Centre's operations, including planning, reporting, contract management and budgets

— Lucy Mills (UQ)

Node Directors

Effective functioning of each node, and also representing the interests of the node within the Centre

- Francis Mitrou (UWA-TKI)
- Guyonne Kalb (Melb)
- Simon Smith (UQ)
- Deborah Cobb-Clark (Syd)

Portfolio Leaders

Operating across the entire Centre, the Portfolio Leaders have special responsibility for achieving the broader objectives of a Centre of Excellence

- Hayley Christian (UWA-TKI)
 Knowledge Transfer Portfolio
- Cameron Parsell (UQ)
 Capacity Building Portfolio



Structure and Governance

PAGE 2 OF 2

Research Committee

CHAIR

Deputy Director

— Deborah Cobb-Clark (Syd)

Centre Director

— Janeen Baxter (UQ)

Program Leaders*

Program 1: People

- Nick Glozier (Syd)
- Deputy: Agnieszka Tymula (Syd)

Program 2: Places

- Mark Stevenson (Melb)
- Deputy: Sangeetha Chandrashekeran (Melb)

Program 3: Opportunities

- Janeen Baxter (UQ)
- Deputy: Wojtek Tomaszewski (UQ)

Appointed representatives

- Karen Thorpe (UQ)
- Azhar Potia (UQ)
- Hayley Christian (UWA-TKI)

Chief Operating Officer

- Lucy Mills (UQ)
- * The Program Leaders provide intellectual guidance for the three Research Programs and the Centre's research as a whole, and each of them is an internationally recognised leader in the area their Program covers.

Sub-Committees

The Executive Committee can appoint sub-committees to deal with strategic and targeted areas. This can include:

- Portfolio Committees
- Ethics Committee
- Intellectual Property Committee
- Conference and Research Retreat Organising Committees

The Centre's sub-committees, and the opportunity to serve on the Research Committee, are a critical component of the Centre's succession planning. They provide an opportunity for early- and mid-career researchers to gain experience in strategy, planning and decision making in a major collaborative endeavour, and ensure that talented researchers are working directly with the Centre's Chief Investigators from all nodes and disciplines.

ARC Centre of Excellence for Children and Families over the Life Course | lifecoursecentre.org.au | Email: lcc@uq.edu.au









